.

recent reviews from guests

Here is a recent review from Hostel World: April 4, 2016

 

 My husband and I had a 24 hour layover in David and stayed here. It was perfect! A bed to sleep on and an oasis in the back yard. I saw the pictures and thought they had been taken in a way that makes it look better than it was, no joke the photos are spot on. We swam in the pool, walked over to the festival that was going on and fell asleep in the hammocks. My whole trip could have been here and I would have been super happy! :)
[4/3/16, 5:02:56 PM] Gregg Lapkin: life is sweet at Bambu.

 

 

 

  • John S Via Air B n B

    Had a great time at the Bambu Hostal in David. The private room we booked was clean and very adequate. The Hostal is great to meet foreign travelers and is located close to good restaurants. I would recommend it as a great stay. John and Christine, Seattle, Washington.

    April 2015


  • Tom And Bonny
    Tom and Bonny M Via Air B N B

    What a great place! We are two seniors who had not previously stayed in a hostel. We were very pleased with private room and bathroom. We liked the "on demand" hot shower. The swimming pool is a wonderful item, allowing guests to freely socialize. The covered outdoor kitchen is also very nice with a large assortment of utensils and stuff. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Five stars from us.

     

     

     


    Janeece G Via Air B nB

    Our host answered all our questions re restaurants in the area etc. the neighbourhood was fine.


    What Janeece loved about your listing:
    The pool area and outdoor kitchen and bar was great. Interaction with the native animal was very entertaining.

    February 2015


    Craig M Via Air Bnb

     

    I admit, it took me a while to adjust to my first large hostel. However once I re-calibrated my thinking and my sense of personal space, I found Hostel Bambu to be a nice place to stay. The service was good, the staff friendly and helpful, the room clean and the outside garden with kitchen and pool very nice. The guests were from all over the world and of varied ages and personalities. Overall, a very nice stay. I would stay there again without reservation.


    What Craig loved about your listing:
    The bar/restaurant across the street had great ceviche for a buck and a half a pop. If you want to make a meal of it, I suggest you get four orders. Still a deal and gives you a chance to to try both kinds; fish and octopus. Also, it is hot hot hot in David so a room with a/c is recommended.

    What Craig thought you could improve about the experience:
    Keep on keepin' on.

     

 

 

 

 
97%

very comfortable stay. really enjoyed the atmosphere and the company. highly recommend this hostal for backpackers or travelers looking for a welcoming place with friendly owners and reasonable prices. a little oasis that's still close to everything you could need to find. From Trip Advisor

 
 
 
91%
 

I was really impressed by the "creative" changes made over the last year. The energy flow was fantastic, and it was great to see the owner Greg exemplify hands on "customer care and service". I see Bambu Hostel as the best 1st option in David Panama! For all good things, I give thanks! Love, Absolutely*

 
100%
 

These guys are fun and friendly and helpful, only place I will stay in David sorry to leave and looking forward to my return

 
91%
 

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Bambu for 10 days. We had to keep changing our reservations, as we had problems with our flights to Panama. Greg (the owner) was so helpful, accommodating, and communicative. We stayed in a double room with air conditioning and a TV with cable. The room was basic, clean, and comfy -- great for a hostel! The staff was super cool and helpful, the grounds are beautiful and relaxing, and the neighborhood is all local families and felt very safe! Bambu is great!!

 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014
 
I stumbled across the Bambu Hostel by accident, as I was traveling late one night in Panama. I'm sure glad I found this place. Folks from all over the world seem to know about this place. There were 6 Country's represented by the different guests that were there. I'm 54, white male, and from the USA. I was the oldest one there, and they all treated me like I was family. Very nice people, and happy to sit pool side with a cold drink , or cold beer, and trade world travel stories. I drove from Panama City,and was worn out tired when I arrived at 10.p.m.. The liveliness of this place quickly revitalized me, and we sat up talking till at least 2 a.m.. I enjoyed every minute of it. The hosts were also very cool, and accommodating, and hung out with the rest of us the whole time. Nothing fancy, but my private room was clean,with cold A/C, and a hot shower. I'll stay there again for sure, and would recommend the place to anyone seeking a casual, open air, out door/ tropical environment, and who enjoys talking with younger world travelers who were in their 20's and ,30's. They all seem to pitch in to make the place work. I was totally impressed with this cool little place.
 
Tranquility and beauty in a convenient area for travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014  Trip Adviso
 
This hostels rooms were clean, comfortable and had air conditioning for a good price. The whole hostel was kept very clean. It has a great indoor/outdoor kitchen and bar on either side of a really nice little pool. The back yard is filled with plants and trees, birds and animals which made me feel like I was already out of the city. The bus to anywhere in David, or the border picks up just around the corner from Bambu. Also, across the street is a really good and inexpensive seafood restaurant.
 
Trip advisor
nov 12 2014
Very very very nice garden!! We were planning to stay only one night, but were happily surprised by this hostel and very kind staff, so decided to stay another night. The garden has several hammocks, a nice pool, outdoor kitchen en beautiful trees. Our room was clean and the airco worked perfect. Great place to relax. For only 35cents you can get a bus to the city center.
 

5 of 5 stars Tripadvisor

Nov 15 2014

 

Great staff, pool, foosball and pingpong. Very nice courtyard and plenty of places to hang out. Cool animals on the property. I stayed in a private room which was very nice and had good AC. This place is my reccomendation for david!

 

'April'USA-

From Booking.com
13 July 2014

We stayed here one night while traveling from Bocas to Costa Rica Pacific side. We were instantly amongst friends. We sat out by the pool listening to a variety of stories with great music in the background. This place is like being at your best friends home for a backyard party in a very cool backyard. Loved it and will always stay here when in the area. Thanks Bambu for the great memories.

 
“Relax in the city” From Trip Advisor
Traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Reviewed Aug 9.2014 via mobile
 

Wir hatten einen super Aufenthalt im Bambu Hostel und haben es als Ausgangspunkt für verschiedene Tagesausflüge gebraucht (Wanderung von Cerro Punta nach Boquete; Playa Paquera) . Der Garten mit erfrischendem Pool, einer gut ausgerüsteten&gemütlichen Küche, einer Bar mit günstigem Bier und leckerem Frühstück und die verschiedenen Haustiere (Waschbär, Katze, Kolibri, Eichhörnli...) machen aus dem Ort wirklich eine Oase mitten in der Stadt. Die Freundlichkeit und die Hilfsbereitschaft des Staffs war absolut genial und wir fühlten uns sehr wohl! Madleina

Stayed August 2014

 

TRANSLATION:

Traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars
"Relax in the city"
Aug 9, 2014  A TripAdvisor Member
We had a great stay at Bambu Hostel and have it as a starting point for various day trips needed (hike from Cerro Punta to Boquete, Playa Paquera). The garden with a refreshing swimming pool, a well equipped & cozy kitchen, a bar with cheap beer and delicious breakfast and the different pets (raccoon, cat, Hummingbird, Eichhörnli ...) make the place truly an oasis in the city. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was absolutely awesome and made us feel very comfortable! Madleina
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Bambu hostel is a fantastic stopover if you are travelling through Panama. It is very easy to stay longer than originally planned, as we ended up doing. The outdoor kitchen and garden with a great swimming pool are an awesome place to chill out for a day or two and there is a variety of sleeping options to suit all different travellers.

The staff is great, especially the owner, Greg, who was happy to chat about anything from travel advice (he really knows his stuff) to Music. If there is something he can do to help you out, he will!

All of this for very reasonable prices for accommodation (from $11) and dollar beers at the tiki bar next to the pool!

I highly recommend breaking up your travels through Panama with a stay at Hostel Bambu!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been staying at another hostel in town and just wasn't feeling it when I found this gem. The rooms and common areas are nice, the grounds are beautiful, the staff is so friendly. Great value as well! Really felt at home there. Will return next time I visit Panama.

 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights just whilst we were killing time before our friend arrives as we can explore with him - the pool and tv made this a great place to do that with us able to watch the World Cup and hang out in the pool!

Big kitchen is very nicely kept and well equipped- even able to eat the fresh avocados that fell from the massive trees over the pretty garden area!

Very friendly and helpful staff, cute house-restaurant across road, local shop just at end of street (centre of David is a bit of a walk especially in the heat!).

Thanks for having us!
Nat & Andy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place rocked, we got exactly what we reserved, the staff was very professional and Greg the host is a great person to chat with. They gave us plenty of information in regards to sites to see, in the area and as a result had several fun filled excursions in the surrounding areas. Yes there were rooster, and the shower wasn't very hot, but for the price you pay and the helpfulness of the staff make this so worth it. Oh yeah dollar beers, awesome pool, and the cute little coati hanging out by the pool definitely made it worth every penny. We will definitely stay here again our next trip to Panama.

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/475116

Bambu Hostel

Calle De La Virgencita

San Mateo Abajo,

David, Panama

phone: (507) 730-2961

Print Print | Sitemap
© bambu hostel